Support our Nation today - please donate here

Watch: Luke Evans teams up with Treorchy Male Choir for epic Calon Lân

08 Nov 2022 2 minute read
Treorchy Male Choir team up with Luke Evans on Calon Lân

Movie star Luke Evans has joined forces with the Treorchy Male Choir for several tracks on his new album A Song For You.

The choir feature on Come What May a duet with Charlotte Church which draws its title from the Donny Hathaway song that’s one of Evans’ lifelong favourites, and with which he opens the 14-song selection.

The choir also feature on You Raise Me Up, Silent Night and a beautiful version of Calon Lân.

Announcing their appearance on the star’s album via the choir’s Facebook page, a post read: “We are absolutely delighted to appear on Welsh actor and singer, Luke Evans’ new album, ‘A Song For You’!

“We sing with Luke on four tracks – Calon Lân, Come What May, You Raise Me Up and Silent Night. The album is now available to buy or download.”

Overall, the focus is on covers carefully curated from Evans’ huge hinterland of musical passions. They’re delivered in his transcendent tenor, with orchestral backing courtesy of Prague’s Philharmonic Orchestra, with additional glorious, full-voiced support on key tracks from the world-famous, 130-year-old Treorchy Male Voice Choir.

In addition to his musical career, Evans has continued to take the acting world by storm having appeared in huge Hollywood blockbusters such as The Fast and The Furious, Beauty & The Beast, The Girl On The Train, The Hobbit, 3 Musketeers, plus ITV’s The Pembrokeshire Murders, Netflix’s Nine Perfect Strangers and Hulu’s Murder Mystery. Most recently Luke has appeared in the live-action Pinocchio film alongside Tom Hanks & Robert Downey Jnr.

A Song For You tracklisting:

1. A Song For You
2. You Raise Me Up
3. Horizons Blue
4. Bridge Over Troubled Water
5. Say Something (ft Nicole Kidman)
6. My Way
7. Over the Rainbow
8. Calon Lân
9. I Can’t Make you Love Me
10. Come What May (ft Charlotte Church)
11. Busy Breaking Yours
12. Everybody Hurts
13. Last Christmas
14. Silent Night

Purchase the album HERE

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
1 year ago

Rhagorol. Excellent.

Last edited 1 year ago by Frank
1 year ago


1 year ago

Lush two off you but something in Welsh after we welsh

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.