Support our Nation today - please donate here

16 Newport shops given closure orders for illicit tobacco sales

20 Sep 2022 2 minute read
Sixteen Newport shops involved in the illicit sale of tobacco have been closure orders this year. Picture: Pixabay

Sixteen shops involved in the illicit sale of tobacco have been given closure orders this year following investigations led by Newport City Council. 

It is estimated that the closures will have prevented illegal tobacco sales of more than £500,000. 

The investigations were led by the council’s trading standards team supported by Gwent Police, Aneurin Bevan University Health Board, Ash Wales, South Wales Fire and Rescue, Newport NOW, HM Customs and Excise, representatives from the tobacco industry and officers from Operation CeCe, a specialist trading standards team tackling illegal tobacco. 

Closure orders

In the latest round of court action, four more shops received three-month ASB closure orders issued by Gwent magistrates in August. 

  • Superstore, 141 Commercial Street (closed to November 10)
  • Jacobs, 61 Commercial Street (closed to November 11)
  • Maleek, 61 Commercial Road (closed to November 17)
  • Food Store, 155 Commercial Road (closed to November 30) 

Food Store unsuccessfully contested the application for the ASB closure order. 

Twelve shops were given three-month closure orders by magistrates earlier this year. 

A survey by Ash Wales found that the illegal tobacco market makes up 15 per cent of all tobacco sales in Wales, with a higher prevalence in deprived communities. 

Anyone with information relating to the sale of illegal tobacco is urged to report it, anonymously.

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.