Support our Nation today - please donate here

Welsh MP ‘distressed’ after not featuring on Kremlin sanctions list

27 Apr 2022 2 minute read
Photo UK Parliament/Jessica Taylor PA Images

Chris Bryant says he was “distressed” not to be included in the Kremlin’s list of 287 MPs being sanctioned in a retaliatory move against the UK’s action over the Ukrainian invasion.

According to a statement from the Russian foreign ministry, the MP’s have been banned from entering Russia in response to the UK Government’s decision in March to include 386 deputies of the State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation on its sanctions list.

The statement says. “These persons, who are now banned from entering the Russian Federation, took the most active part in the establishment of anti-Russian sanctions instruments in London, contribute to the groundless whipping up of Russophobic hysteria in the UK.

“The hostile rhetoric and far-fetched accusations coming from the lips of British parliamentarians not only condone the hostile course of London, aimed at demonising our country and its international isolation, but are also used by opponents of a mutually respectful dialogue with Russia to undermine the foundation of bilateral cooperation.”


Responding to the ban, Mr Bryant, MP for Rhondda said: “I’m absolutely distressed that I’m not on the list. And, if I’m honest, slightly surprised, I can only assume that the Russian Federation accepts that every single thing that I have said about President (Vladimir) Putin over the last few years is true.

“He is a barbarous villain and we must make sure that he fails.”

The sanctions list includes ministers Jacob Rees-Mogg, Amanda Milling and Penny Mordaunt, as well as Commons Speaker Sir Lindsay Hoyle.

But the supposed list of “members of the Conservative Party faction in the House of Commons” appeared well out of date.

Charlie Elphicke, who was thrown out of the party and jailed after being found guilty of three counts of sexual assault, was also included.

So too were Sir Oliver Letwin, Dominic Grieve and Justine Greening – who all had the whip withdrawn for rebelling over Brexit and were no longer MPs after the 2019 election.

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
2 years ago

What a narcissist!!

Malcolm rj
Malcolm rj
2 years ago

Why don’t you go to one of those London house’s that you own and have a good pout

2 years ago

Self-serving, Welsh-hating r-sole.

And he’s my M.P ☹️

Kerry Davies
Kerry Davies
2 years ago

No context means that this response to Michael Fabricant’s syrup wasting time at PMQ’s by claiming that his own inclusion on the list was his proudest moment as an MP.
The fact that several former and even dead MPs were also on there didn’t seem to occur to the Tories. Bryant was poking fun at ineptitude.

2 years ago
Reply to  Kerry Davies

If they’d been inept they’d have put him on the list!

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.