Support our Nation today - please donate here

Ref named for Wales’ World Cup quarter-final against Argentina

10 Oct 2023 1 minute read
Referee Jaco Peyper sends off England’s Freddie Steward during the Guinness Six Nations match at Aviva Stadium, Dublin. Picture date: Saturday March 18, 2023.

South African Jaco Peyper controls his 50th Test match when he takes charge of Wales against Argentina in Marseille on Saturday.

Wayne Barnes will referee Ireland’s Rugby World Cup quarter-final clash against New Zealand in Paris on Saturday.

It is a record fourth quarter-final appointment for the 44-year-old Englishman, taking him ahead of Nigel Owens, Jim Fleming and Derek Bevan.

And England’s last-eight appointment with Fiji on Sunday will be refereed by Frenchman Mathieu Raynal, with New Zealander Ben O’Keeffe in the middle for France versus South Africa.

“It was a very difficult selection as the performance level has been high,” World Rugby’s high performance 15s match officials manager Joel Jutge said.

“There is a strong culture within this group.”

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 months ago

Sadly I have to say that the officials have been very inconsistent with hat is causing major issues for the teams. A ruck sometimes is penalized in 50 milliseconds or 3 seconds when opponents grab the ball. Not straight balls on lines are never charged and high tackle when carrier put the head down is always tackler fault and yellow card. one more, hard clean up and players flying over the ruck seems to to ok while it is one of the most dangerous plays. im sorry but i disagree with the comment of hight quality officials performance. and more… Read more »

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.