Support our Nation today - please donate here

Watch: Wrexham see off struggling Doncaster as Paul Mullin returns

09 Sep 2023 2 minute read
Wrexham’s Elliott Lee scores their side’s second goal of the game during the Sky Bet League Two match at the SToK Racecourse, Credit: Barrington Coombs/PA Wire

Wrexham made it back-to-back Sky Bet League Two wins and moved into the play-off places with a 2-1 victory over struggling Doncaster at the Racecourse.

A deflected effort from Luke Young and a late Elliot Lee strike were the difference as Phil Parkinson’s side extended their unbeaten league run to six games, while Rovers’ wait for their first win of the season continues.

After a bright start from the home side, which saw Sam Dalby’s effort saved by Ian Lawlor, the visitors could have opened the scoring themselves through Mo Faal, while Tom Anderson blazed over from just six yards.

But it was Wrexham who took the lead in the 37th minute when Young’s effort was deflected past the helpless Lawlor in the Rovers goal after Ollie Palmer and Lee had come close moments earlier.

Doncaster continued to enjoy plenty of possession after the break and their pressure was rewarded when Faal headed home from a Joe Ironside cross.

Paul Mullin entered the fray as a sub much to the delight of those at the Racecourse. and Wrexham could have retaken the lead when Will Boyle’s header flashed wide and Palmer’s effort was saved by Lawlor, but it was Lee who stole the points with a thunderous drive from the edge of the box in the 88th minute.


I feel the team can only get better and better – Wrexham boss Phil Parkinson

Gallery: The best images from Wrexham v Doncaster

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.