Support our Nation today - please donate here

Watch: Winners announced for the 2023 BAFTA Cymru Awards

16 Oct 2023 3 minute read
Rakie Ayola poses with the Sian Phillips Award for significant contributions to film and television during the BAFTA Cymru Awards 2023 held at the International Convention Centre Wales on October 15, 2023 in Newport, Wales. (Photo by Hoda Davaine/BAFTA/Getty Images for BAFTA)

The winners of the 32nd BAFTA Cymru Awards have been revealed at a special ceremony at the ICC Wales in Newport, hosted by Welsh TV presenter Alex Jones.

The BAFTA Cymru Awards honour excellence and celebrate talent across film and television in Wales.

Y Sŵn received two awards, Feature/TV Film and Editing: Fiction, won by Kevin Jones.

Greenham won Factual Series with Rhys ap Rhobert receiving the Editing: Factual award for his work on the series.

Save the Cinema scooped two awards with Jo Thompson winning Costume Design and Jonathan Houlding receiving the award for Production Design.

Siân Phillips award recipient Rakie Ayola won her first BAFTA Cymru award for Actress for her performance in The Pact and Taron Egerton received his first BAFTA Cymru Award for Actor in Black Bird. Joining first time winners is Lisa Jên who received the Presenter award for Stori’r laith.

Entertainment Programme was won by Luke Evans: Showtime! and The Lazarus Project collected the award for Television Drama.

Luke Evans attends the BAFTA Cymru Awards 2023 held at the International Convention Centre Wales on October 15, 2023 in Newport, Wales. (Photo by Kate Green/BAFTA/Getty Images for BAFTA)

Sally El Hosaini won Director: Fiction for The Swimmers. Last year’s Breakthrough Cymru winner, Chloe Fairweather, wins The Director: Factual award for Scouting for Girls: Fashion's Darkest Secret.

The winner of this year’s Breakthrough Cymru award goes to Mared Jarman for the comedy drama How This Blind Girl… which she wrote and acted in.

Bjørn Bratberg received the Photography & Lighting: Fiction for his work on Gwledd/ The Feast and the Sound Team for The Rising received the Sound award.

Brothers in Dance: Anthony and Kel Matsena won the award for Single Documentary, Photography: Factual was presented to Sam Jordan-Richardson for the Our Lives – Born Deaf Raised Hearing, Y Byd ar Bedwar: Cost Cwpan Y Byd Qatar won the award for News and Current Affairs.

Children’s Programme was awarded to Mabinogi-ogi for the second time and the Short Film category was won by Heart Valley.

Industry legend, Hywel Gwynfryn was awarded the Outstanding Contribution award presented by Rhuanedd Richards.

22 competitive awards in total were presented across the evening as well as two BAFTA special awards. The ceremony was broadcast on BAFTA YouTube channel and is available to watch below.

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.