Support our Nation today - please donate here

David Rees beats Labour colleague to be elected as Deputy Presiding Officer

12 May 2021 2 minute read
David Rees MS. Picture by Senedd Cymru.


David Rees has been beaten his Labour colleague Hefin David to be elected as Deputy Presiding Officer.

In a socially distanced secret ballot at a meeting of the Senedd – the first since last week’s election – David Rees won by 35 to 24.

David Rees, the MS for Aberavon, defeated Hefin David, the MS for Caerphilly.

This follows the re-election of Elin Jones as Presiding Officer after she beat the Conservative MS Russell George by 35 votes to 25.

The job of the Presiding Officer is to chair meetings in the chamber and act as the Senedd’s figurehead, and the Deputy Presiding Officer acts as their number two.

Mark Drakeford is expected to be confirmed as First Minister later in the session. Welsh Labour won 30 out of 60 seats in the chamber in the election last week.

“Honoured and delighted to be elected as Deputy Presiding Officer of the Senedd,” David Rees said. “Thank you to all members who have put their faith in me to maintain our standing orders and the running of the Senedd.”

“Llongyfarchiadau David Rees, Diprwy Llywydd,” Hefin David said. “I’m looking forward to supporting my good friend as Deputy Presiding Officer in the Sixth Senedd.”

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Steve George
Steve George
3 years ago

Good choice. Nice fella and no deadweight!

Ann Swindale
Ann Swindale
3 years ago

“David Rees has been beaten his Labour colleague Hefin David to be elected as Deputy Presiding Officer.”
You really need to up your game on proof reading to be taken seriously as a newspaper!

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.