Health Minister slams UK Gov for changing international travel rules ‘without engagement’

05 Aug 2021 2 minutes Read

The Health Minister has slammed the UK Government for changing the rules on international travel for England “without engagement”.

Eluned Morgan blasted the move as “unacceptable” after Boris Johnson’s administration took a “unilateral approach” and she said “Welsh interests need to be part of the decision-making process”.

Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia, Latvia, Romania and Norway will move from the amber list to the green list, which means travellers from those countries will no longer have to quarantine upon their return to England.

According to the Welsh Government because Wales shares an open border with England, it has no choice but to follow suit and implement the measures.

These changes will come into effect at 4am on Sunday 8 August.

Eluned Morgan said: “Despite our continued efforts to press for UK-wide decision-making in this area, decisions for England have once again been made without engagement with the Welsh Government or the other Devolved Governments.

“This is unacceptable – international travel policy affects all parts of the UK and Welsh interests need to be part of the decision-making process.

“We are extremely disappointed with the unilateral approach taken and believe there remain clear public health risks posed by re-opening international travel while the virus is circulating globally. For these reasons, we continue to caution against international travel for non-essential reasons this summer.


She added: “However, as we share an open border with England, it would not be practical or viable to introduce a separate border health policy.

“Therefore, we will replicate the changes being made in England, Scotland and Northern Ireland, to maintain the same traffic-light system as the rest of the UK.”

People fully vaccinated in the UK, in Europe or the USA with approved vaccines will no longer be required to self-isolate and take a day-eight PCR test on arrival from France.

Georgia, La Reunion, Mayotte and Mexico will move from the amber list to the red list, while India, Bahrain, Qatar and the UAE will move from the red list to the amber list.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Phil Jones
Phil Jones
5 months ago

When is it going to dawn on the Welsh government that Boris and his gang have never, do never and will never think of Wales as anything other than a subservient colony.

5 months ago

No consultation Eluned? For God’s sake wake up….. We are a colonial possession. Time for independence!?

j humphrys
j humphrys
5 months ago
Reply to  Quornby

Q, it is looking essential.

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.