Support our Nation today - please donate here

Labour Senedd member decided to ‘step away’ from government before reshuffle

13 May 2021 3 minute read
Ken Skates

A Labour Senedd member has said he decided to “step away” from government before a reshuffle by the First Minister.

Ken Skates, who was recently re-elected to represent Clwyd South, has been replaced as Economy Minister by former Health Minister Vaughan Gething.

Mark Drakeford has made sweeping changes to his cabinet following Welsh Labour’s election victory and his reappointment as First Minister.

Ken Skates has said he will “continue to be a loyal supporter” of Drakeford and his government and that his decision will enable him to focus on “local matters”

He said: “Being re-elected as Member of the Senedd for Clwyd South is a huge honour. It has been a privilege to work with constituents over the last ten years to improve and champion our area, and I will continue to work as hard as I possibly can.

“This week I informed the First Minister of my wish to step away from Welsh Government. After eight years in government, now is the right time.

“Clwyd South has always remained my number one priority, and my decision will enable me to spend more time in the constituency, focusing on local matters, as well as further strengthening the Party’s position in North Wales and further afield.”


He added: “I will continue to be a loyal supporter of First Minister Mark Drakeford and our Welsh Labour Government from the back benches.

“Above all, I will spend the next five years focusing relentlessly on helping the people and communities of Clwyd South as the local Member of the Senedd.”

The First Minister said: “Ken has been a real strength in Cabinet and a voice for North Wales. He will continue speaking up for North Wales and for Welsh Labour but in a different role. We will miss his energy and passion.

“Vaughan becomes Economy Minister at a crucial point in time – the pandemic is not just a public health emergency but also an economic one.”

The Cabinet in full

Mark Drakeford – First Minister

Mick Antoniw  – Counsel General designate and Minister for the Constitution

Rebecca Evans – Minister for Finance and Local Government

Vaughan Gething – Economy Minister

Dawn Bowden – Deputy Minister for Arts and Sport, and Chief Whip

Lesley Griffiths – Minister for Rural Affairs and North Wales, and Trefnydd

Jane Hutt – Minister for Social Justice

Hannah Blythyn  – Deputy Minister for Social Partnership

Julie James – Minister for Climate Change

Lee Waters  – Deputy Minister for Climate Change

Jeremy Miles  – Minister for Education and the Welsh Language

Eluned Morgan – Minister for Health and Social Services

Julie Morgan  – Deputy Minister for Social Services

Lynne Neagle – Deputy Minister for Mental Health and Wellbeing

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Layton Jones
Layton Jones
3 years ago

Alun Davies out in the cold. Jane Hutt good minister but thought Drakeford would have given her a different brief after all this time.

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.