Support our Nation today - please donate here

Mabon ap Gwynfor chosen to contest Dafydd Elis-Thomas’ seat for Plaid Cymru

06 Jul 2019 1 minute read
Mabon ap Gwynfor

Mabon ap Gwynfor has been chosen by Plaid Cymru to challenge Dafydd Elis-Thomas in his Dwyfor Meirionnydd seat at the next Assembly election.

Dafydd Elis-Thomas won the seat for Plaid Cymru in 2016 but soon left the party and is now a Deputy Minister for Culture, Sport and Tourism in the Labour-led Welsh Government.

Mabon ap Gwynfor defeated academic and Porthmadog town councillor Simon Brooks and Porthmadog Councillor Nia Jeffreys to win the nomination, which was announced following a husting at Pwllheli.

The other contenders were Elin Roberts, Llywelyn Rees and Elin Walker Jones.

Mabon ap Gywnfor is currently a Councillor on Denbigh County Council, representing Llandrillo ward.

Mabon ap Gwynfor’s grandfather, Gwynfor Evans, became Plaid Cymru’s first MP in Carmarthenshire in 1966. His father and mother, Guto and Sian ap Gwynfor, live in Llandysul.

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.