Support our Nation today - please donate here

Jac Morgan handed captaincy as Wales name squad to face Barbarians

02 Nov 2023 2 minute read
Wales’ Jac Morgan celebrates following the Rugby World Cup 2023, Pool C match at the Stade de Nice, David Davies/PA Wire

Jac Morgan will captain a team containing 12 Rugby World Cup squad members when Wales tackle the Barbarians in Cardiff on Saturday.

Wales head coach Warren Gatland fields four players who started the World Cup quarter-final defeat against Argentina last month – Morgan, centre George North, lock Adam Beard and number eight Aaron Wainwright.

Dragons prop Lloyd Fairbrother, 31, makes a first Wales appearance in the non-cap fixture, with wing Tom Rogers and lock Ben Carter also gaining opportunities.

Fairbrother starts in the tighthead position, where Gatland was without the services of France-based pair Tomos Francis and Henry Thomas, Harlequins forward Dillon Lewis, plus injured duo Kieron Assiratti and Leon Brown.

Assiratti was ruled out by an ankle injury, while Brown has a calf muscle problem, meaning call-ups for Fairbrother and Scarlets prop Harri O’Connor, who is among the replacements.


The Principality Stadium encounter is being staged to pay tribute to Wales’ record cap holder Alun Wyn Jones. He retired from Test rugby in May after making 158 Test match appearances for his country.

And joining him in international retirement will be full-back Leigh Halfpenny, who makes his final Wales appearance this weekend. Halfpenny won 101 caps and scored 801 points.

Gatland said: “Playing a Barbarians side filled with quality players is a good challenge for this group and a chance for players to put their hands up and show what they are about.

“It will be the last game in a Wales jersey for Leigh Halfpenny, but also a chance for fans to see and celebrate Alun Wyn Jones and Justin Tipuric playing international rugby one last time.

“We are looking forward to getting back out in front of a home crowd on Saturday.”

Team: L Halfpenny (unattached); T Rogers (Scarlets), G North (Ospreys), J Williams (Scarlets), R Dyer (Dragons); S Costelow (Scarlets), Tomos Williams (Cardiff); C Domachowski (Cardiff), D Lake (Ospreys), L Fairbrother (Dragons), B Carter (Dragons), A Beard (Ospreys), D Lydiate (Dragons), J Morgan (Ospreys, capt), A Wainwright (Dragons).

Replacements: E Dee (Dragons), N Smith (Ospreys), H O’Connor (Scarlets), Teddy Williams (Cardiff), T Plumtree (Scarlets), K Hardy (Scarlets), C Evans (Dragons), M Grady (Cardiff).

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.