Support our Nation today - please donate here

Key roles for new faces as Welsh Conservative leader reveals shadow cabinet

27 May 2021 3 minute read
Andrew RT Davies

New Senedd Members have been handed key roles as the Welsh Conservatives revealed their new shadow cainet in the Senedd today.

Natasha Asghar, the first woman of colour elected in the Welsh parliament’s history, had become Shadow Minister for Transport and Technology.

New Carmarthen West and South Pembroke MS Samuel Kurtz is the new Shadow Minister for Rural Affairs and Welsh Language.

Former Monmouthshire Council Chief Executive Peter Fox has been given the Finance brief.

There are also key roles for established MS, with previous Welsh Conservative leader Paul Davies – who stepped down before the election after allegedly drinking alcohol on Senedd premises during Covid-19 restrictions on serving alcohol in pubs – given the Shadow Minister for the Economy role.

Welsh Conservative leader, Andrew RT Davies said that after their “best ever Welsh election result” this was “a new team brimming with energy and ideas”.

“The Welsh Conservatives have delivered a fresh team to the Senedd and I’m excited to see a new shadow cabinet full of talent and expertise from outside parliament enter the political fray in Wales,” he said.

“Our immediate priority will be working in the national interest to protect livelihoods and ensure our economy gets on the road to recovery and we build back better after the most difficult period we’ve seen in peacetime Britain.

“My team will do the job that families, workers and businesses in Wales want to see from us – holding Labour to account, putting forward positive policy alternatives as we build a real alternative and ensuring that, through strong opposition, we deliver better government.”

The list

The new Shadow Cabinet appointments are as follows:

  • Welsh Conservative leader – Andrew RT Davies
  • Chief Whip and Shadow Minister for the Constitution and North Wales – Darren Millar
  • Deputy Whip and Shadow Minister for Equalities – Altaf Hussain
  • Shadow Minister for Climate Change – Janet Finch-Saunders
  • Shadow Minister for Culture, Tourism and Sport – Tom Giffard
  • Shadow Minister for the Economy – Paul Davies
  • Shadow Minister for Education – Laura Jones
  • Shadow Minister for Finance – Peter Fox
  • Shadow Minister for Health – Russell George
  • Shadow Minister for Local Government – Sam Rowlands
  • Shadow Minister for Mental Health, Wellbeing and Mid Wales – James Evans
  • Shadow Minister for Rural Affairs and Welsh Language – Samuel Kurtz
  • Shadow Minister for Social Justice and Shadow Counsel General – Mark Isherwood
  • Shadow Minister for Social Partnership – Joel James
  • Shadow Minister for Social Services – Gareth Davies
  • Shadow Minister for Transport and Technology – Natasha Asghar

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mandi A
Mandi A
3 years ago

No comment.

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.