Support our Nation today - please donate here

Russell George toasts ‘absolute privilege’ of winning Montgomeryshire for the third time

07 May 2021 2 minute read
Russell George AM. Picture by the National Assembly

Elgan Hearn, local democracy reporter

Russell George has retained Montgomeryshire for the Conservative Party in the 2021 Senedd Election.

This is a hat-trick of wins for the Newtown resident who was first elected in 2011.

He has also increased his majority from 3,339 to 7,528.

Plaid Cymru candidate, Elwyn Vaughan took second place and Liberal Democrat hopeful Alison Alexander came third.

Turnout for the constituency was 50 per cent, with 25, 134 votes being cast.

Mr George said: “It’s an absolute privilege to be returned as the Montgomeryshire member of the Senedd to represent my home constituency, where I was born and lived all my life.

He thanked the Powys County Council staff for conduction the election count in a “very difficult situation.”

Mr George also thanked his family and team for their support during the campaign as well as his fellow candidates who conducted a campaign that “focussed on policy.”

For the first time, Plaid Cymru came second in the constituency, which saw the Liberal Democrat vote fall by over 2,400 from 2016.


Plaid Cymru candidate Elwyn Vaughan, said: “This is the best ever result for Plaid Cymru in Montgomeryshire, we are the progressive force against the ultra-right-wing agenda by the Conservatives from London.

“That is the context unfortunately that we live in these days.

“I can assure you I will be staying in Powys politics to challenge and keep Russell and his team answerable and working hard for our communities.”

Mr Vaughan added that this result ensured that a Welsh voice had been heard clearly in the constituency which would be a base for the future.

Liberal Democrat candidate, Alison Alexander, said: “I can’t think of a time when liberal values could be more important.

“We have a lot of work to do here in Montgomeryshire and we are ready to do it.”

The result is:

Alison Alexander – Liberal Democrat -4,207

Kait Duerden – Labour – 3,576

Gwyn Wigley Evans –  Gwlad – 157

Russell George – Conservative – 12,013

Oliver Lewis – Reform UK – 549

Elwyn Vuaghan – Plaid Cymru – 4,485

Support our Nation today

For the price of a cup of coffee a month you can help us create an independent, not-for-profit, national news service for the people of Wales, by the people of Wales.

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
John Brooks
John Brooks
3 years ago

Labour share up again.

Our Supporters

All information provided to Nation.Cymru will be handled sensitively and within the boundaries of the Data Protection Act 2018.